Living with Chronic Pain & Mental Illness: Working with Anxiety & Panic Disorder

What makes them Anxiety or Panic Attacks

It really takes great skill and endurance (or perseverance) when or if working with anxiety disorder and panic disorder.

Before I begin, I’ll do a quick reminder of what they are or you can click on the links above..

Although Anxiety is a natural defense and response to danger. It’s also a natural alarm that goes off when you feel threatened and unfamiliar of the situation or place you’re at… or when you are feeling a psychological remembrance to an area you’re at or based on a traumatic situation that reminds you of another that you’ve experienced and made you go on high alert. Anyone could experience this. So it brings the question of… when does it turn into a disorder? well the site I linked nonstop in this post, explains it perfectly. It says in the help guide that it becomes an disorder when

anxiety is constant or overwhelming—when it interferes with your relationships and activities—that’s when you’ve crossed the line from normal anxiety into the territory of anxiety disorders

Keep in mind that Anxiety Disorders are also…

a group of related conditions rather than a single disorder, they can look very different from person to person. One individual may suffer from intense anxiety attacks that strike without warning, while another gets panicky at the thought of mingling at a party. Someone else may struggle with a disabling fear of driving, or uncontrollable, intrusive thoughts. Yet another may live in a constant state of tension, worrying about anything and everything.

(The last part is me.. I was born anxious. So being tense is a natural trait of me at times lol)

Anxiety attacks are episodes of intense panic or fear. Anxiety attacks usually occur suddenly and sometimes without any warning. Other times there could be obvious triggers like interviews, meetings, etc. It usually happens and gets intense within 10 minutes but it rarely lasts for more than 30 minutes. But during that short time, the terror can be so severe that you feel as if you’re about to die or totally lose control. Some says it feels like getting a heart attack. But for me it only feels like my stomach is getting twisted in the knot and being pulled out of my throat.

 

Meanwhile Panic Attacks is a fear based stress and..

…is a common experience that occurs when we face something unknown or something that makes us feel uncomfortable. Its part of our nervous systems response to a real or possible threat and prepares us to fight or flee. Panic is an intense wave of fear characterized by its unexpectedness and debilitating, immobilizing intensity. Panic attacks often strike out of the blue, without any warning. There may be no clear reason for the attack.

A panic attack may be a one-time occurrence, but many people experience repeat episodes. Recurrent panic attacks are often triggered by a specific situation, such as crossing a bridge or speaking in public—especially if that situation has caused a panic attack before. Usually, the panic-inducing situation is one in which you feel endangered and unable to escape.

You may experience one or more panic attacks, yet be otherwise perfectly happy and healthy. Or your panic attacks may occur as part of another disorder, such as panic disorder, social phobia, or depression

…..

Most of the symptoms of a panic attack are physical, and many times these symptoms are so severe that people think they’re having a heart attack. In fact, many people suffering from panic attacks make repeated trips to the doctor or the emergency room in an attempt to get treatment for what they believe is a life-threatening medical problem. While it’s important to rule out possible medical causes of symptoms such as chest pain, heart palpitations, or difficulty breathing, it’s often panic that is overlooked as a potential cause—not the other way around.

…..

While a single panic attack may only last a few minutes, the effects of the experience can leave a lasting imprint. If you have panic disorder, the recurrent panic attacks take an emotional toll. The memory of the intense fear and terror that you felt during the attacks can negatively impact your self-confidence and cause serious disruption to your everyday life. Eventually, this leads to the following panic disorder symptoms:

Anticipatory anxiety – Instead of feeling relaxed and like yourself in between panic attacks, you feel anxious and tense. This anxiety stems from a fear of having future panic attacks. This “fear of fear” is present most of the time, and can be extremely disabling.

Phobic avoidance – You begin to avoid certain situations or environments. This avoidance may be based on the belief that the situation you’re avoiding caused a previous panic attack. Or you may avoid places where escape would be difficult or help would be unavailable if you had a panic attack. Taken to its extreme, phobic avoidance becomes agoraphobia.

 

(Source)

 

~~~

The Difference of Anxiety & Panic Attacks

Although those with Anxiety Attacks may feel fearful, apprehensive, may feel heart pacing harder than usual, shortness of breath, etc.. it all lasts for a short while and it goes away when the stressor is gone. Meanwhile Anxiety Attacks doesn’t really react due to a stressor. It’s unprovoked and unpredictable. The physical symptoms would be way worse like dying and it would lasts longer or repeatedly.

~~

Having Anxiety & Panic Attacks & Work

I face anxieties constantly. I honestly can’t really remember or can place a time where I don’t feel it. Because most times, I am scared of conflict inside and out the home. And I;n scared of attacks outside. What’s funny is I get anxiety about having panic attacks outside that I actually end up getting it. I fortunately have no full agoraphobia but I’m sure I’m close.

I know I have anticipatory anxiety and avoidance disorder caused by them. My fear is having attacks outside, being in an overwhelming situation where I can’t escape whilst getting it and being unable to stop my horrible thoughts, and obviously I hate crowds and being in embarrassing situations. So I try to avoid that. Because of that.. It affects my jobs. It makes me confused about what I’m good at at all…

Having a Panic attack that comes any time, unannounced and honestly…. anything and everything is a trigger and you may not even know it. It’s scary. I have to face it a lot. For instance when it comes… I can’t control it. Can’t even stop it. I can only just endure it. Make the best out of it. Breathe. Continue despite the adrenaline, chest pressure, migraine/headache, nausea, shakes, and dizziness. One is truly lucky if one could endure it and continue.

When I can’t handle it…I’d feel like I just got a fever that’s fast reacting and comes all in 5 minutes. Like I think anxiety attacks are bad enough and horrible to feel… but panic has proven to win lots and make me feel worthless. It makes me believe the lies that my anxieties tells me constantly are right. The physical affects that the panic attacks does to me is like getting serious flu or fever in a short time and lasts for 4-6 hours. I’d be fighting against what I’ve mentioned above like migraines, nausea/vomiting, dizziness, shakes; including hot flashes with random coldness (that causes the shakes), and in worse times, I straight up I face near-fainting situations and all of it involves falling no matter where I am. So when I have a horrible attack, most times I have to take a step back even when it affects my job. But I rather they don’t have me die from hitting my head somewhere there and in front of other employees and customers.

It’s hard finding a job and people who understand. I hate just having to call last minute to miss work or be late when I’m relied on. I just hate how you need government/medical proof but all it really is is a doctors’ note and even for them they’re like..”huh????” followed by “Pffftt!!” So yea… really need pre-note to give the employers a heads up that I really got it but I don’t think it will help me in the work place in any way. They may understand but they still need reliable employees.

And sadly I can’t… because…

When I’m not fighting that, I’m fighting constant Anxiety of messing up, disappointing, and of having my chronic migraine symptoms. There are so many days where it takes complete control where I can’t work past it. I can’t ignore it. It’s often so crippling that I have to lay in complete darkness, with the windows cracked, and a garbage bag beside me as I struggle breathing and have an anxiety or panic attack because of the pain. And yet I am not qualified for any government assistance.

 

Author: fromkatanawithlove

I'm a medical mystery, always was....so I'm documenting it😅😅 Honestly..it was really later in life when I discovered all my migraines and sudden weak immune system wasn't from poor eating. It was something I never expected... I was diagnosed with major depression and general and social anxiety. it was all messed up.. I hope those who visit my blog.. feel safe and connected too. I hope you know.. you're not alone. And to those you knows me... this blog is also for you to understand me better.

Leave a Reply

